Goodbye… Pebble Watch (Why the Pebble Smart Watch was NOT for me)

My decision to sell my Pebble Watch was a big surprise for people who knew me…

Officially sold it last Friday, 10 May 2013 and earning a hundred dollars was a “good (and easy) reason” for explaining my side.

Here’s a quick history… Made my pledge to Pebble’s Kickstarter last April 23, 2012 (USD 115.00 + USD 15.00 for shipping). My watch officially arrived last March 27, 2013!

Don’t get me wrong… My Pebble Watch performed really (surprisingly) well, used it once for testing and I cannot find any reason to sell it.

However, when I placed it beside my other watches, I suddenly felt that it came a little too late…

Here are the reasons why I decided to sell it and maybe reasons why the Pebble Watch is not for you…

1. I’m now a Samsung Galaxy Note II user, when I made my pledge a year ago; I was still using my iPhone 4. With the iPhone 4, I seldom used instant messengers like Whatsapp and Viber since my family primarily used iMessage. The Pebble Watch will not only show SMS/iMessage notifications, you can also read your message.

When switched to the Note II, I had to use Whatsapp and Viber since I did not want to use too much SMS. The Pebble App needs to be activated on my Note II’s accessibility settings so that Whatsapp notifications can be pushed to my watch. This will NOT allow you to read your Whatsapp messages from your watch; it will only notify you that you have a new Whatsapp message.

Viber is not yet supported by the Pebble App, you can install Pebble Notifier if you want additional ALL notifications pushed to you watch.

The Pebble Notifier also works as advertised… But I only saw notifications… I wasn’t able to read messages.

Another issue is that my phone runs on stock TouchWiz, I have no time to root or install third party launchers. TouchWiz has an issue where my phone speaks (Folder Open and Folder Close) when I activate the Pebble App/Notifier on my accessibility options.

2. The Pebble Watch uses a rechargeable battery! There were weekends when I just wanted to pickup my Pebble Watch and use it… Biggest problem is that once I pick it up, the battery is low and needs charging.

The CooKoo Watch and Casio’s GB6900 and GB5600 both use disposable batteries which means I will be able to pick it up and go.

3. The Pebble Watch’s battery cannot be replaced. Based on my experience with electronic devices… These things almost last forever… Just like my old iPod’s, they just keep working.

However, I (personally) collect watches… I do not own high end brands (like Rolexes and Omegas) but I do not want to let go of my watches. Other that my wedding ring, a watch is the only jewelry I wear… Yes, I think watches are a man’s jewelry…

Since the Pebble Watch will be a “part” of my collection, at the back of my head, I know a day will come when it will stop charging since the battery is dead and I will have to let it go…

2-3 years from now, using the first gen Pebble Watch will look strange compared to G-Shock’s GB6900/GB5600. I believe both watches from Casio will still be useable even if their not connected to my Smartphone.

4. The Screen has very low resolution! 114×168 to be exact. There are a lot of Watch Faces available but thanks to its screen, few looked good.

5. It’s plastic! I have nothing against plastic watches… If done correctly!

But the Pebble Watch attracts finger prints! Its also has a cheap feel that small accidental bumps might scratch it! The Pebble’s physical looks (and material) also made it almost impossible for me to wear it at the office. I have seen screen protectors for the Pebble and 22mm watch straps can fit perfectly to replace its rubber straps but I just didn’t want to spend on it anymore.

I love the idea of Smart Watches. Maybe I’ll just have to wait for future versions before I purchase one again.

The Pebble Watch may not be for me but it’s definitely a great watch! For those interested in buying a Pebble Watch, you can order here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Goodbye… Pebble Watch (Why the Pebble Smart Watch was NOT for me)”

  1. kahyehm says :

    interesting, the shipment date sucks!
    im not inclined on the pebble watch though i think its the least expensive ive seen here… thanks for the input!… id so put that in mind!

    • ice15 says :

      hmmm, of the Smart Watches I’ve seen (so far).

      The Cookoo is sold at SGD 178.00, Casio’s G-Shock (6900 and 5600) is sold at SGD 269.00

      The Pebble (Pre-Order at getpebble.com) will cost USD 150.00 (around SGD 180.00) without shipping…

      CooKoo only has a screen that will blink if you have a notification, SMS notifications are not yet included. G-Shocks also do not have SMS Notifications and are presently not compatible with Android devices.

      As for Sony’s and Fossil’s Smart Watch, I haven’t seen a favorable review ever… I also don’t expect third party apps for them…

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Android Wear Lite? | world of ice - September 28, 2015

Leave a Reply

