The Replacements! Goodbye iPad 2, Hello Nexus 7

Another move to Android for us, but this time, the replacement is coming from my wallet.

My iPad’s replacement… Google’s Nexus 7 (2013) 2nd Generation.

Nexus 7 2013

Letting go of my iPad was very difficult, love the size, the feel and the battery life. Even if its 2 generations old (present model is already the iPad 4), I honestly did not feel the need for an upgrade. My only complain with the iPad 2 is the weight, for a portable device, I find it too heavy.

An easy solution would be to move to the iPad mini, but not only is the iPad mini due for an update, I’m also not happy with how iOS has evolved.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not starting an Android vs iOS post, but the iOS 7 is great with the iPhone, I think it’s too playful for the iPad. And unlike in Android, you cannot install a different launcher to change how the home screen looks like.

Why did I go for a Nexus? Because Google’s Nexus line receives Android updates on time. Just look at the other tablets available in the market. Most of them are still running Android 4.1-4.2.

Another reason for me is since its running stock Android, I don’t have to deal with the extra Apps installed by OEMs.

Asus Nexus 7 2nd Gen

Why the Nexus 7 over the Nexus 10. Size issue, I personally think the perfect size for a tablet is around 7-8.5 inches… I know a lot of people who thinks that 7 inches is too small, but for me, it’s more than enough for my videos and books.

Here’s a last look at my iPad 2.

Apple iPad 2

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “The Replacements! Goodbye iPad 2, Hello Nexus 7”

  1. nxtab says :

    I’m a massive fan of the 7″ form factor. The Apply fanbois had been making it very clear that only 10″ would do but they quickly back tracked once Apple did their U-turn and released their own 7″ model.

    The first N7 was good, but the new one is really ahead of the game.

    Yes, the next range of iPads will be faster and have higher res screens but the Nexus range already has that, its cheaper and, unless you are gaming, how much faster do they need to get?

Leave a Reply

