My Next Phone!

It’s March 2015… And I’m still using my Samsung Galaxy Note II!

Was originally thinking of the Nexus 6 (XT1100) but due to the delay of its release in Australia I suddenly realized that maybe its better to wait a little more for the 2015 devices.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the size and specs of the Nexus 6, but I just can’t get over one small issue… It runs on a Snapdragon 805

I know the Snapdragon 805 is a very good processor, but towards the end of 2014, Android OEMs started releasing mid-range devices that ran on Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 410 (like the HTC Desire 620), 64-bit processors which will be supported by Lollipop (Android 5).

It may take ages before these devices receive their updates, but once it comes, users “should” feel speed and battery life improvements. – No guarantee… But I’ll never know if my device doesn’t have a 64-bit processor… Like the Snapdragon 805!

CES2015 just finished and as expected… 64-bit Android devices like the Asus Zenfone 2 and LG Flex 2 were announced.

I’m sure Google won’t go all-in on 64-bit, I can’t imagine Android One devices running on 64-bit processors this year but I’ll be using my own cash to buy a flagship phone and I think I deserve 2015 specs!

Some things on my checklist for my next phone…

QHD Display
64-bit processor
4k Video Recording
Capacitive (Home) Button

Almost all 2014 flagship devices (Samsung Galaxy S5/Note 4, Sony Xperia Z3/Z3 Compact, Motorola Nexus 6/Moto X) can record 4k videos, but few devices were released with QHD Displays (Motorola Nexus 6, LG G3, Samsung Galaxy Note 4)

None of 2014’s flagship devices ran on a 64-bit processor, except for a specific Exynos version of the Note 4.

I can live with Samsung’s love for the physical home button, but the other 3 features I mentioned above are non-negotiable.

Since I’ve decided to wait… I’m presently searching for leaks on the following devices…

Samsung Galaxy S6 – as I said, I can live with the home button
HTC One – I always loved the look and feel of the older Ones (M7 and M8)
Sony Xperia Z4 – it’s need for a propreitary charger gives it a big disadvantage, although you can use a regular USB Cable, we all know its rubber flaps doesn’t last long

HTC One will jump to #1 if it gets a QHD Display and same goes for the Xperia Z4 if it gets a QHD Display and Qi Wireless Charging.

As of now, it’s wait and see again…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Replacements… Galaxy S6 Edge | world of ice // gadgets - July 15, 2015

Leave a Reply

