Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1 (T510) – And Android missed opportunity in 2020

This is so not me… I just purchased a Gataxy Tab A! I bought a February 2019 released tablet in 2020.

Why? I just want a device I can use in bed to watch Netflix!

NO, this is not a great tablet, but I was looking for something cheap and the easiest one I found was Lenovo’s M10 at S$309. After doing my homework… The M10 uses a MicroUSB which willl be a hassle should I decide to bring the device when travelling!

So while looking for possible options I saw the Tab A 8 at only S$198 and the Tab A 10 was S$398, then I heard the guy beside. “It’s only S$300 from Lazada!”

So the moment I reached home, I made the purchase and the device arrived days later.

The device is not sealed with plastic, but there’s this usual tape on the side.

As for the specs, don’t expect too much, but it was nice to see it receive Android 10! (I prefer the gestures)

Inside the box is a USB-A to USB-C cable and a 7W charger, I’ve seen a lot of complains about the charger, but after some testing, the device can only take 9W! – the chacrger isn’t that bad.

As for the tablet, sound is pretty decent and screen is ok. Not bad for S$300 but in some countries like the Philippines, I heard this thing is almost similarly priced to an iPad! I’ve mentioned it a million times and (as of 2020), I prefer Android to iOS in phones. But for Tablets, if the price is the same, there’s no way I’m choosing a Galaxy Tab A over an iPad. The iPad will just last longer!

at SGD 1= PhP 34
Tab A 8 @S$198 = PhP 6,596 (price as per Samsung Philippines – PhP 16,990)
Tab A 10 @ S$300 = PhP 10,200 (price as per Samsung Philippines – PhP 7,990)

iPad Philippine Price – Php 19,990


As for Android’s missed opportunity in 2020. I’m looking at the Philippines right now.

Due to the Covid-19, there are a lot of schools who will go on-line, my daughter’s school is included.

2 weeks ago, my daughter’s iPad just gave up and we don’t feel comfortable to have it replaced as there’s been a lot of leaks about a new device coming in 2021 – she’s presently using her MacBook Pro as her “main device.”

So I lent her the Tab A (as her 3rd device) and using her own log-in (Android supports multiple user) she downloaded the Apps she needed and started using the Tab A.

So upon receiving queries about Tablet Recommendation, I kept pushing for the Tab A 8 and 10 as their cheap (S$198 and S$300). Then they all replied that the Tab A and the iPad has the same price!

Google and Samsung needs to put as many Android tablets out in the market to show developers that they also have numbers, the market share.

If Samsung sold the Tab A 8 & 10 in developing countries at S$198 and S$300, those people won’t even look at tablets from Huawei and Lenovo.

Just imagine, more tablet, more devices running Android 10.

I find it a missed opportunity for Samsung and Google.

The Tab A isn’t as good as an iPad, but its still better than the existing competition within Android.

If priced correctly (S$198 and S$300), I can recommend it over the iPad.

Tags:

Leave a comment