Google Pixel Buds 2

Received this from my wife the 1st day it was officially available in Singapore.

So how does the Pixel Buds 2 compare with my S$100.00 Liberty Air?

At present (July-August 2020, firmware 296 for the left. right and case) – the Pixel Buds 2 is really bad.

The Audio Cut Out issue is real, stability issues (especially when using it outdoors). There were even times when my Pixel 3XL just won’t connect, I had to reset the Pixel Buds just to use it again!

And resetting the buds is just a pain, you can’t do it without charging the device!

There are a lot of things the Pixel Buds 2 got right. Spoken notifications is handy, but it can be annoying when you have a friend who sends multiple short messages instead of 1 long one. The ability to reply to notifications is also nice.

Handsfree “OK Google” and swipe volume controls are always welcome.

Mic quality is way better compared to my Liberty Air.

But then there’s always the audio cut out issue. Earphones should deliver acceptable sound to you ears, using the Pixel Buds 2 made me feel like I was back in the 90’s with my discman. Yes, it sounded better than my walkman, but the music skips. Then there’s the reliability issue that the buds just won’t connect to you phone – something I didn’t even encounter with my Liberty Air.

Google’s support which is close to worthless! I have informed them of my issues asking for a possible replacement, 3-weeks later, still no word from them!

I can honestly forgive Google is the Pixel Buds 2 were released in 2016!

But it’s now 2020 and something as simple as wireless earbuds should work 99% of the time.

Do yourself a favor and don’t buy this thing.

***UPDATE***

Have complained to Google Support last July 27 regarding issues I have with the Pixel Buds 2. As of today, 07 September 2020. All I received from them are 2 reference numbers, 1 RMA form which they cancelled later and more than a hundred emails.

After receiving the “550 firmware update” for my device, yes the bass is better, but still the same stability issues especially when using the buds outdoors.

Tags: , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Replacements… Galaxy Note 20 Ultra | world of ice // gadgets - October 23, 2020

Leave a comment