Goodbye iMac

It’s been a good 7 years!

2011 iMac

I bought 2 computers in 2011.

An MSI Wind for my daughter, and a 21.5inch iMac for me.

To be specific, it was an iMac 12,1, mid-2011 with a 2.5 GHz quad-core (Sandy Bridge) processor.

500GB hard disk, 4GM RAM which I upgraded to 8GB before leaving the store.

iMac Specs

Small screen dent and 2 trackpads later, I finally passed my iMac to the next guy.

iMac Dent

Why did I decided to sell?

More of the space it consumed no longer justifies it’s main purpose.

If I am still at my parent’s house in Manila, I could have easily changed the hard disk to a SSD and kept this iMac in my room, or our study room…

But this is Singapore and space is a premium… Room is too small, and I can’t keep it in our living room.

My iMac won’t get macOS Mojave, but it’s fine with High Sierra.

Using iMovie, it can still edit my 4K videos (exporting them is another story).

It’s still more than enough for all my needs, if only it was more compact.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment