Dell Premier Wireless Keyboard and Mouse KM717

*sadly, the mouse that came with the set is faulty (left click not working). We’ll be returning the entire set to the Lazada seller*

*That was fast… wen’t to their Funan shop and the mouse was replaced in less than 5 mins!*

Me and my keyboard issues…

2017… wife gave me a Microsoft keyboard for Christmas and I’ve been using it everyday for work until 6 months ago… strangely, the letter “N” faded.

I still use the mouse as it’s was better than the mouse that came with my company issued Logitech (MK315). But the Logitech keyboard our IT gives me just feels weird. It’s plasticky, I hate the sound and feel… So I’ve been searching for my next office keyboard.

My search brought me to a lot of review sites. I wan’t something low profile, quiet with shallow keys. Think Apple’s butterfly keyboard on Windows. Sadly, not even Apple made a butterfly keyboard for their iMac and Mac Pro.

I was so close to purchasing the Surface Keyboard. Reviews were good but there were a few things that’s off for me. First is the price and that it can only connect to one device at a time. Then there’s the color, since the keyboard will later be used for the office, I can’t use a silver/white/gray keyboard as it will be dirty later.

So after a few research, I found the Dell Premier Wireless Keyboard and Mouse, KM 717.

mvimg_20200624_143736

Without opening the box yet (as I’m very busy with my 9-6 job) I decided to buy it based on the following…

  1. It can connect to 2 BT devices, another device using the 2Ghz keyboard dongle.
  2. Having a mouse included in its price point is a big plus
  3. Looks good (in photos)

After unboxing… this thing looks great. Black chicklet keys, aluminum frame and little LEDs for Caps and Number lock.

Mouse also feels and look great, there is a button on top which will let you switch between the dongle, BT1 and BT2 devices.

Keyboard has a separate switch and I do hope that in future versions, we get a unified switch for the keyboard and mouse.

2 biggest issues, still not happy with the key press travel (again, I’m looking for the keyboard feel of my MacBook)… But it isn’t bad… Plus this thing is crazy silent.

MVIMG_20200624_141056

2nd issue, the mouse has a separate button to switch from Device 1-3, again not as big. Another plus for the mouse… Back and forward buttons on each side… Handy, but something you’ll have to get used to.

The KM717 has a nice and premium feel which is so close to what I’m looking for. Closest thing I can remember is my iMac’s Apple Keyboard.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment