Microsoft Universal Keyboard / Universal Foldable Keyboard

Microsoft Universal Keyboard

Received a Microsft Universal Keyboard for Christmas…

Microsoft Universal Keyboard Box

Microsoft Universal Keyboard

Would have been a great replacement to my old keyboard… It just doesn’t work.

Tried charging for more than a day and it still didn’t work…

I mean, it would work if plugged to a charger, but using it “wirelessly” was impossible.

Sent it back to Best Denki (Vivo City)… Sadly, they also can’t make their other units work…

Compared to other portable keyboards.

Microsoft’s keyboard could last (up to) 6 months on a single charge.

It will also work with 1 (one) Windows, Android and Apple devices.

Since they guys at Best have given up… They asked me to add S$30.00 to get Microsoft’s Universal Foldable Keyboard.

Believe it or not, according to the guys from Best, its the first time that someone returned a BT Keyboard… And its also their first time to open another unit that also didn’t work.

Anyway… I have a new Keyboard now and here’s my personal review…

Microsoft Universal Foldable Keyboard

Universal Foldable Bluetooth Keyboard

Microsoft Universal Foldable Keyboard

I have been using a portable keyboard even before smartphones had bluetooth!

My first portable keyboard used infrared which was paired with my HTC Tanager.

My second one was an iGo Stowaway Bluetooth Keyboard which sadly was no longer around when I bought an iPad 2

Bought an Elecom BT Keyboard for my wife. But it can only be paired to 1 (one) device at a time.

All my devices use Google Keyboard… But for long emails, nothing beats a full sized keyboard.

Here is where my new keyboard is useful… For replying to emails and writing stuff.

Yes, T&N are oddly shaped, and (as of now) I still keep hitting Caps Lock instead of the Shift key. But the keys feel good.

Reminds me of typing on a Thinkpad!

According to Microsoft’s website, it has a Spill-resistant design and thanks to Bluetooth 4.0 technology, it can last 3 months on a single charge.

You can also pair it with 2 (two) Microsoft, Android and Apple devices…

Universal Foldable Keyboard Multiple OS
Universal Foldable Keyboard Multiple Devices

Another big plus is that (based on my testing with my Nexus 7), the keyboard does not disconnect when the tablet goes to sleep. Just hit any key and my tablet goes back to life asking for my PIN!

Only drawback for me is that it doesn’t come with a stand.

For the Universal Keyboard (mentioned above), you can use the cover as a stand. my older iGo Stowaway and my wife’s Elecom Keyboard also came with a stand.

For this Foldable Keyboard, you’ll have to try your luck on Daiso to find a decent looking stand.

There’s a lot of love and hate with this Foldable Keyboard from Microsoft. There’s a learning curve on how to handle the space in between the keys…

But, you’ll be more productive using it compared to using your device’s software keyboard!

Universal Foldable Keyboard

Universal Foldable BT Keyboard

What’s in the box?

Universal Foldable Keyboard USB

Just 2 small booklets and a USB Cable.

Microsoft Universal Foldable Keyboard Manual

Behind the cover are instructions on how to use it.

Tags:

Leave a comment